UEFA EURO 2020: Ballon d’Or Decider?

The Ballon d’Or is the most prestigious individual award that a player can receive. It is awarded to the player who performs the best in a calendar year for his club and country. Usually, in a year where there is no international tournament, the Ballon d’Or winner is decided by performances in the domestic league and UEFA Champions League. This year, on the other hand, we have the footballing fiesta which is about to start in less than two weeks. So it will play a crucial factor in determining the winner of the prestigious Ballon d’Or award.

Chelsea Football Club for the second time in their history has won the UEFA Champions League with a 1-0 win over rivals Manchester City in an all-English final. The only goal of the game came from the German forward Kai Havertz. Once again the underdogs have risen from the ashes to dethrone the top contenders for the title. The trophy is again coming back to the blue side of West London.

Two players were crucial to the success of Chelsea’s campaign without whom this title-winning season wouldn’t have been possible. The first is the young midfield star Mason Mount(22) who just in his second season of top-flight English football announced to the world his class and ability. The second Chelsea player is the un hateable Frenchman, N’Golo Kanté(30) who has single-handed lead Chelsea to Champion League glory. The all-around playstyle of Kanté and his loveable nature have made him a fan favorite since the start of his career in England.

Belgium’s and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne(29) who went off injured with a head injury in the final is also a contender for winning the Ballon d’Or. With his sensational passing skills and playmaking, it is no doubt that he played a major role in Manchester City reaching the final.

The fourth contender in our list is the Polish striker Robert Lewandowski(32) who plays for Bayern Munich. Lewa(As the fans call him) just gets better with age like fine wine, he scored in the last minute of the season to break Gerd Muller’s 49-year record of Bundesliga goals in a campaign. The Poland striker now has 53 goals in 46 games for club and country heading into Euro 2020.

The tie-breaker between these players for the Ballon d’Or is the UEFA EURO 2020. The team which wins, their player automatically will be favored more for the award. Only time will tell what happens now as we head into July, just a few more days left for the first match of the grand tournament!

Leave a Comment